Where Faith Produces

Evangelism 101

Being missionally minded is not an easy transition for me. It is something that is developing. I’ll be blogging about this development in the next several weeks.

I was reminded earlier this week by a couple different people about the ministry and methodology of Way of the Master. Ed Stetzer writes about it here. He discusses what I think many of us struggle with. We know it is important to share the gospel and we even know what Scripture to share to present the gospel, but we just can’t figure out how to start the conversation. Ray Comfort and Kirk Cameron demonstrate how to move past the intellectual conversation to the heart. Here are some videos to help get you started.


There are more at Youtube. You can also go to www.WayOfTheMaster.com They have some good free videos and resources. If you having trouble sharing your faith, welcome to club – now let’s figure out how to get over it.

In the words of Red Green – Remember, I’m pulling for you. We’re all in this together.

3 responses

  1. I have used their materials and methods when I was in college (2001 or so), they are effective at getting people to talk about God. I stopped using them eventually because I got convicted about bringing people to Jesus simply because they are afraid of hell. I mean, eternity in the presence of God is a very attractive thing, but at the same time, this was never the focus of the new or old testament followers of God. Their focus was on living for Him now, and having a right standing relationship with Him now while they wer alive. That is why heaven and hell were never even mentioned in the old testament.
    I think that the new missional mindset (which is very affiliated with emergent) is all about living a holistic gospel, basically not just saving their souls, but also their lives. meeting their physical and social needs, just as Jesus did. befriending the lonely, feeding the poor and helping the orphans and widows in distress.
    I basically came to the conclusion that if I could argue someone into folowing Jesus, someone else could argue them out of it. It makes evangelism very difficult, and you have to get pretty involved in their lives, but maybe that’s how it is supposed to be.
    Keep blogging ont his though, Im interested to see what you find.

    April 6, 2007 at 10:52 am

  2. Thank you, Preson. I appreciate the way you approached this topic. I’m sure you are aware of the reason Way of Master chose the method they did. Kirk talks about how he had seen too many believers walk into the church and right back out because they didn’t truly understand what was being offered. Is salvation about a joyous life? Obedience? Sacrifice? Loved by the Creator? Wealth? Access to a magic genie? Friends? While some of these answers are “yes”, while others are an astounding “no”. Way of the Master experienced the church attracting people to the gospel by what they could get out of it. There definitely needs to be a holistic approach to Christ’s message.

    holistic – Emphasizing the importance of the whole and the interdependence of its parts

    April 6, 2007 at 11:15 am

  3. Mustardtree,

    I love Way of the Master. I started watching the TV show, and I had the whole spiel memorized for at least a year, before I had the guts to actually witness to someone. I live in a small town, and my excuse was that there’s not really any place here where there are people just hanging out. That was a silly excuse that I was using to not get involved, and really I was just scared. I eventually got sick of my sissiness, and went to http://www.thegreatnews.com and contacted my local leader. It really helped to go out witnessing with other people, and watch them witness, and then have them nudge me into doing it.

    I’ve found that people are scared of dying, and most are open to discussing what the Bible says.

    One of my favorite ways to start a conversation with people is to hand them one of the Living Waters Million Dollar Bills, and then say, “It has the million dollar question on the back.” They’ll turn it over, and often read the question out loud: “Will you go to heaven?” You’re into the conversation. If they act like they don’t care about what the question is, you can jokingly say, “You’re supposed to ask me what the million dollar question is.” Most people will say, “Okay, what is it?” Then, you get to ask them the question.

    Just keep in mind that some people don’t want to talk, and some do. If someone acts like a jerk, just move on to the next person. Don’t take it personally. Also, people will bring up objections, and if you’re a beginner, you won’t know how to respond. You go home, and learn what to say, and you do better next time. I’ve learned so much about the Bible since I started doing this.

    This is the greatest adventure you’ll ever embark on.

    Thanks,
    Bill

    April 9, 2007 at 9:35 am

Leave a Reply

